Eminent Faculty Awards

Each year, The University of Louisiana at Lafayette Foundation honors four outstanding faculty members for their commitment to and effectiveness in teaching as well as their research, professional service, and community. 

Established in 1965, the Distinguished Professor Award recognizes faculty for their research, teaching effectiveness, and contribution to their profession and campus life. 154 faculty members bear this distinction.

Since 1992, 31 Dr. Ray P. Authement Excellence in Teaching Award recipients list the award among their accolades, bestowed for their commitment to teaching, innovation,
and pedagogical scholarship.

Recipients of either award must have a minimum of eight years with the University. There are no restrictions on the rank of the candidate; however, deans, department heads, and acting department heads are ineligible. For the Distinguished Professor Award it is desirable, but not mandatory, that the recipient hold the terminal degree in their field.

Each department and/or school develops their own method for selecting nominees, whose names are forwarded to the dean of the college. A letter or recommendation from the dean accompanies each portfolio presented to the selection committees. The recipients are selected by their peers. Faculty across a variety of disciplines serve on each committee
who independently, then collectively, rank the candidates. The awards include a stipend presented to each recipients at a banquet held in their honor.

In 2015, the name Distinguished Professor Awards was changed to Eminent Faculty Awards, encompassing both the Distinguished Professor Award and the Dr. Ray P. Authement Excellence in Teaching Award.

To watch videos of past recipients click here. 


Archived PressRoom
 View Current



© Copyright 2015, University of Louisiana at Lafayette Foundation. All rights reserved.